Which heart shaped diamond would you choose?

Natascha K

Dear diamond reviewers,

For my platinum wedding/engagement ring I am searching for a loose heart shaped diamond with a nicely defined cleft. The diamond will be set in a swirl halo design, kind of like this: https://www.jamesallen.com/engagement-rings/danhov/14k-white-gold-abbraccio-swirl-engagement-ring-style-ae100-by-danhov-item-58073.

I have found a couple of diamonds on the Jamesallen website which I found looking beautiful, but as an amateur I would love some advice before buying one of these. Which one(s) of the diamonds below would you and would you not recommend?

Also, which one do you consider as the best pick?

I'm very much looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this and any advice you could give me.

Thank you kindly in advance!
Edited by Natascha K

Hi Natascha, welcome to Diamond Review!

You have a variety of stones in relatively different colours (F to I), clarities (VS1 to SI2 - with some at the border of not being eye-clean) and carat weights (0.90 to 1.15 - for some people having a 1 full carat is important).

On the other hand, they are very similar in face-up size, outline and cut quality (in as much as it can be judged in a series of non-comparative videos), as well as being quite close in price.

Personally, I would discard the 1.00/F-SI1 because I would be afraid that some of the dark crystals would be visible to me. Among the other 5, you have a fair amount of variety, and recommending a choice depends on what you value most (e.g. colour vs. "size", clarity vs. contrast, $500 back vs. "1 carat").

The only real piece of advice I can give you is to choose the diamond you like the most from the videos.

Hi Natascha