Help with emerald diamond choices - 1.9 carat VVS2, E/F Colour

Toby

Hi guys

Hoping you can help as I am totally new to diamonds! Looking at engagement ring and want to purchase emerald cut. I have recently been looking at 77diamonds.com as they seem to have good reviews and competitive price wise. Are they reliable and good to use? I have no major rush timing wise. 

I visited their showroom yesterday and they selected two diamonds which seemed to suit for me - they followed up just now with the photos I requested. Can you guys take a look and let me know thoughts? Pro/Cons of each etc? Anything I should ask?

Any advice much appreciated! 

Diamond 1: EMCPDTBGBVFC

Price: £13,412.16

Ratio: 1.34 ratio

Carat: 1.9

Cert: GIA

Colour: F

Clarity: VVS2

Cut/Polish/Sym: Ex

FLO: None

Dimensions: 8.06 x 6.00 x 4.07

Depth: 67.9%

Table: 62%

Diamond 2: EMCPXVASPFZT

Price: £13,126.51

Ratio: 1.43 ratio

Carat: 1.8

Cert: GIA

Colour: E

Clarity: VVS2

Cut: Very Good

Polish/Sym: Ex

FLO: None

Dimensions: 8.20 x 5.74 x 3.95

Depth: 68.7%

Table: 65%

EMCPDTBGBVFC- 1.34 ratio.jpg

EMCPXVASPFZT- 1.43 ratio.jpg

Specs 6 July 2017.png

The real problem is that the photos don't tell us (or you) much... I like the second photo better, but I don't know to what extent that is a fair representation of what the diamond looks like!

The vendor seems to think that the F is better cut than the E. Given no lab (other than AGS, and even then...) provides a reliable cut grade for non-rounds, this has to be the vendor's evaluation. Ask them how they reached that conclusion, and don't be surprised if you hear a lot of BS.

Can the vendor provide an ASET image for the two stones? Or a comparative video with BOTH stones at once? Anything where the two stones are seen separately in non-standardised conditions (especially with one single image) tends to be more a reflection of photography skills than of a difference in looks.

Edited by davidelevi