Newbie - Thoughts And Opinions On Choice And Price Please

Chonch12

Hello all,

I am very new to all of this and tried to do a Lot of research. I was highly recommended to work with ID Jewerly from a few different places, all agreed they are legit and will help me out.

My overall budget was $6K all in, I knew I wanted a Gabriel and Co "Rachel" halo, listed at about $2K on their site.

This was the diamond I ended on.

https://www.jamesallen.com/mobile/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.03-carat-i-color-vs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-2641313

Now I know the inclusion is scary but it did get a VS2 grade and I was guaranteed it was eye clean. My overall out the door price was $6K even. With this diamond and the "rachel" setting what are your thoughts? It appears I got a solid deal (about $1400 off listed) but wanted to check in with some experts such as yourselves.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Chonch12

I don't understand a few things: 

- Who is "ID Jewelry"? If you were recommended them, why did you end up at James Allen (who is a fine retailer, btw)?

- Did you end up paying $6k for the diamond alone, of for the diamond + the setting (setting which I cannot find on JA's site, BTW)?

The diamond looks fine - very nicely cut, and I would think that despite the rather prominent inclusion at 20x it will be eye-clean in reality, except possibly from some very specific angles. Some of the visibility will also depend on the setting.

The price: if you don't like it, it's not a good price, but you can return it. If you like it, and you paid 6k for the stone only it's a fair but not super price, considering the strong blue fluorescence. If you paid $6k for the diamond plus a $2k setting you got a very good price. Congratulations!