WhittakerJ

Advice On Bluenile Cushion 2.3Ct With Fluorescence

8 posts in this topic

Hello everyone. This is my first time here. My wife recently lost her ring and I haven't shopped for a diamond or ring in 10 years since we got engaged. I'm getting ready to remake a ring modeled after the Tiffany Legacy setting. The first step is obviously finding the diamond. I flew to LA a few weeks ago and found a nice diamond in the jewelery district for $15k. I was then browsing Blue Nile and found this one https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-details/LD08509883which I've purchased. As you can see the table shows very large which is one of the items I was looking for. The problem is the strong blue fluorescence. Everything I've researched online says it can create a chalky or milky look. So I figured what the hell I'll buy it and if it looks like junk in the sun I'll simply return it if I didn't like it. I got it and I think it looks gorgeous in every light setting. Perhaps a tint of blue in the sun, not too much,that I think makes it look even more radiant. My problem is I'm a person that cares about value and making smart purchases. Can someone offer some feedback on my situation? I appreciate your time in advance.

-Jeremy

Personally I like fluorescence.

That said, it does tend to drive down prices because of exactly the fear you expressed.  How much it affects the price is a hotly debated topic.  A popular trade rag says 5-15%.  It's higher for DEF colors and sometimes turns into a premium for JKL type colors.  In your case it looks to be about 20% discount compared to the otherwise similar 2.12/D/VS2 from the same vendor (its both cheaper and heavier but has strong vs. none).  You're not likely to notice it outside of the disco and the sterilization room but it WILL bite you if you try and resell the stone to a dealer.  Resale is a bite anyway, but it's worse with fluorescence.  

By the way, here's a clickable link since I can make them and you can't.