Got Diamond Questions?
Our community of diamond experts are here to provide answers
Paul Sandberg

Investing In Diamonds

Has anyone in the forum experience with investing in "Pure Diamond Holdings Ltd." (the C.E.O. is Mr. Andrew Segal). I invested in a portfolio of diamonds with this company in 2012. The investment exit is supposed to be between 3 and 5 years. 

Nope. I've never heard of them specifically. But I have a LOT of experience with people investing in various diamond 'investment' plans. The problem is ALWAYS in the exit scenario and occasionally in the carrying and transaction costs. If selling were as easy as buying, this would all be so easy. You're right at the beginning of your exit window. How do they claim this will work?

Neil Beaty

GG(GIA) ICGA(AGS) NAJA

There's never a crowd when you go that extra mile.

Professional Appraisals in Denver

Thanks for the reply. Pure Diamond Holdings claim that they auction the diamond portfolios owned by the investors at a suitable time (determined by them) between 3 and 5 years after the investment began (I started my investment in September 2012). Investors co-own a portfolio of precious diamonds purchased at about 1 million pounds per portfolio (my purchase was £32,000). The diamonds are stored in Malca-Amit's vault in Geneva. The portfolio is sold at the end of the investment period (e.g. by public auction or to private buyers), and the proceeds immediately distributed to the investors pro rata of investment. Their projection is that the value of the diamonds will have risen by about 13% (or more) per annum. Here is the link to "Pure Diamond Holdings" http://purediamondholdings.com

Any profit above 13% is shared equally between Pure Diamond Holdings and the investors. 

I don't mean to come across as harsh but I think this is an important topic. People ask about it a lot. I also point out I've never heard of this particular company and am not singling them out. I wish them and their customers all the best.