consumer guidance. we do not sell jewelry.

Jump to content

View New Content      Forum Rules                            New here? Quick site intro

King Diamonds


3 replies to this topic

#1 wpd575

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 06:36 AM

HAS ANY ONE EVER HEARD OF KING DIAMONDS? THEY HAVE ALOT OF STUFF ON EBAY AND SAY THAT THEY ARE SELLING REAL DIAMONDS, BUT THERE PRICES ARE UNREAL. ANY THOUGHTS?

Edited by wpd575, 18 April 2007 - 06:36 AM.


#2 denverappraiser

    Ideal Diamond

  • A-List Appraiser
  • 5,148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver Colorado, USA

Posted 18 April 2007 - 07:15 AM

I've never heard of them but ebay is full of sellers that I've never heard of so this isn't necessarily bad. Look for clues about the company:

If their only sales avenue is ebay, this is a very bad sign.
If they are outside your home country this is a bad sign.
Read the 'terms and conditions' section carefully. Pay special attention to the return period and limitations on what can happen if you are unhappy with your purchase after it arrives.
Pay attention to who is responsible for grading accuracy. Often this is what's 'unreal'.
If they provide an 'appraisal' that reports a value way out of line with the asking price, this is a bad sign.
Read and understand any unsupported grading claims like cut grades, brilliance grades and the like.
Actually read the feadback, not just the number. Pay special attention to neutral and withdrawn feedbacks.

If you give us a link to an ad for something you're considering, people here may be willing to give comments.

Beyond any 'appraisal' values that they provide, why do you say their prices for things look unreal?

Turn off your CAPS LOCK.

Neil

Edited by denverappraiser, 18 April 2007 - 07:33 AM.

Neil Beaty
GG(GIA) ICGA(AGS) NAJA

There's never a crowd when you go that extra mile.
Professional Appraisals in Denver

#3 wpd575

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 07:42 AM

This is the link to the ad. Just dont really know if there are legit.


[url="http://cgi.ebay.com/CERTIFIED-92-CT-F-SI1-PRINCESS-DIAMOND-SOLITARE-RING_W0QQitemZ190104250555QQihZ009QQcategoryZ67726QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem"]King Diamonds[/url]

#4 diamondsonfifth.com

    Rough Diamond

  • A-List Jeweler
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY NY 10017

Posted 18 April 2007 - 10:00 AM

View Postwpd575, on Wednesday, Apr 18 2007, 11:42 AM, said:

This is the link to the ad. Just dont really know if there are legit.


King Diamonds


Two things, for one there stones are clarity enhanced, the next thing you need to look into each feedback to see what items they sold to get these feedback, allot of times these eBay sellers have allot of feedback on cheap stuff, but not on regular diamonds.