consumer guidance. we do not sell jewelry.

Jump to content

View New Content      Forum Rules                            New here? Quick site intro

Photo

Diamonds that diamond review.com are quoting


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Puchky

Puchky

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 September 2000 - 11:21 AM

Are the diamonds that you are quoting on your site GIA certified or do they have other certifications or none at all? Please advise as to what type of certification you are quoting.

#2 dinkins

dinkins

    Opal

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 19 September 2000 - 01:47 PM

> Are the diamonds that you are quoting on your site GIA certified or do they have other certifications or none at all?

Mixed bag. The way the price engine works is it pulls ALL diamonds that are very similar to the one you asked for and then gives you price statistics on the selected samples. Some diamonds in that population may be certified, others may not be. Some diamonds may come from high-end retailers while others might come from low-price wholesalers or online jewelers.

Keep in mind that the purpose of the price engine is to give you a ballpark figure to (1) give you an idea of prices for what you want, and (2) help prevent you from getting ripped off. If you want an actual valuation on a specific diamond, you must contact an expert who will then physically examine the diamond (the process goes way above the 4C's).

Hope that answers your question.

Regards,

#3 garyhope

garyhope

    Bronze

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 September 2000 - 07:37 AM

The prices I've seen on DR.com quotes seem lower that what I've seen at various sites. Especially for 2 carat stones. Am I wrong?